Five Minute Friday: Quiet

Linking up with Lisa-Jo Baker for Five Minute Friday.

Five minutes to write. No over-thinking. No editing. No backtracking. (Not that I do any of those things regularly anyway.)

GO

Two very different me’s this week. One part of me is quiet and still. Taking one day at a time. I feel that part of me calm and trusting even as we visit a new little boy and think of the transition and receive news that throws a wrench in things. I feel the Holy Spirit doing hard work in the deepest parts of my heart.

The other part of me rages and rants. The flip side of the coin. I have been quick to anger with those I love most. Words spilling out of my mouth that cut and shame and berate. As the words flow faster and louder I watch their impact on the faces of my dear ones. I know I should stop. I see the damage in their eyes.

What a wretched woman am I! I know the good I ought to do, and yet I do not do it.

This is my constant struggle: the quieting of the tongue.

STOP

One response

Leave a Reply

