How sorting clothes builds my faith

I have spent some time in the past few weeks sorting through the kids clothes. The process of swapping out summer clothes for winter clothes is always stressful for me. This year a large bag of size 4t clothes mocks me from the corner. Nathaniel has outgrown them and I usually send his outgrown clothes straight on to some friends with 2 boys younger than mine. This year I can’t bring myself to just get rid of them.  Because even though I haven’t let myself think about our latest referral much the thought popped into my head, “What if I need them for this 2 year old boy we are waiting to hear about?”

Or what if this boy isn’t coming to our house but in a few months I need them for another boy?

This is one of the small areas that shows how my faith is being built through waiting. I absolutely have to trust that God will provide what we need when we need it.  I don’t need to worry or fret about the physical details. I know that as soon as we get a placement I can send an email and my church family will gather around and care for us. I know that if at some time in the future we need boy clothes, that I have already given away, we will have boy clothes.

I am keeping the bag of clothes this week. If this little boy is not placed with us I will graciously pass them on to someone who can use them.

Leave a Reply

