Next step

Last night we received an email that DFCS wants to set up a meeting with us to discuss the placement of the 2yr old boy we were contacted about a few weeks ago.  I have been pretty proud of how I have been able to not really dwell on this possibility since we learned about it. I really have not been obsessing over details or planning for it. Last night my youngest crawled into our bed at 4am. He hasn’t done that in a very long time. I thought I would fall right back to sleep but instead I tossed and turned. The details about the possibility of having a 2yr old placed here, that I had previously been able to keep out of my mind, came rushing in.

Yet, I still feel pretty calm. I wrote a quick list and was able to move on this morning. All we know at this point is that we will schedule a meeting with the DFCS case managers to discuss the child, his case, and his needs. At that point we will make a decision about whether or not we will accept the placement and at that time a plan for transition will be made. Our last experience taught me that it is pointless for me to try and think ahead. We are at the mercy of DFCS and their schedule. Things will happen when they happen. And we will have to adjust. I also know that I don’t really have to worry about getting the stuff we may need. If we give/get the green light and the placement happens I know that family and friends will surround us and we won’t lack for anything.

This morning there is much to be done in the daily work of our household. School work, laundry, cleaning, yard work are all on the days list of things to get done. Two nights this week we have soccer games. We have our life to live. We will take the next step and see where it leads from there.

Leave a Reply

