“The Power of Your Love”

Sunday morning we drove again through the bright, yet waning, fall colors to join our church family for worship at the annual church retreat. It was a beautiful morning, the glory of the the Lord proclaimed in the brilliant early morning sunshine. My hands were wrapped around my warm coffee mug. Pumpkin spice creamer can always comfort me. The tried and true words of ancient hymns were wafting through the speakers.

I felt numb. Anxious.

As soon as we pulled into the gravel parking lot the boys were out of the van and running off in search of friends. This terrain was familiar to them. I walked slower. Not sure that I wanted to engage in conversation quite yet. I entered the lodge and sure enough, was quickly surrounded by women who have been praying for me. They were well-meaning and eager to hear how our day visit went. But I was still numb. And processing. And not really sure what to say. I mumbled a few sentences. Did my best to answer questions appropriately. But the whole time this tingling sensation was in the pit of my stomach, radiating out to my fingertips, the physical manifestation of my fears and doubts.

We file into the chapel and sit on risers in the back. The boys have requested this novelty. The band begins and we sing,

The joy of the Lord, will be my strength, I will not waiver walking by faith. He will be strong to deliver me safe. And the joy of the Lord is my strength.

And then we sing, Power of Your Love, and all I can do is sit with my head on my knees, my hands palm upwards in surrender. Because surrender is all I can do. And deep down, trembling, what I really want is for my heart to be changed, my weaknesses to be stripped away, my eyes to be unveiled, and for God’s will to unfold.

His love will carry me. No matter what.

The Power of Your Love, Hillsong United

Lord I come to You
Let my heart be changed, renewed
Flowing from the grace
That I found in You.
And Lord I’ve come to know
The weaknesses I see in me
Will be stripped away
By the power of Your love.

Hold me close
Let Your love surround me
Bring me near
Draw me to Your side.
And as I wait
I’ll rise up like the eagle
And I will soar with You
Your Spirit leads me on
In the power of Your love.

Lord unveil my eyes
Let me see You face to face
The knowledge of Your love
As You live in me.
Lord renew my mind
As Your will unfolds in my life
In living every day
by the power of Your love.

One response

Leave a Reply

