What are you seeking?

This morning I was blithely reading in the book of John again. John the Baptist has revealed Jesus to be the Christ and two of his disciples leave him and start following Jesus. Jesus turns to them and said, “What are you seeking?” (John 1:38). Such a personal, thoughtful question. That Jesus, the Son of God, would ask them this question is astounding to me. “What are you after?” (The Message).

This today is my grace. This question from Jesus, spoken to two disciples a few thousand years ago but also to me today. This gentle probing that acknowledges my lack of confidence, encourages me to look into my heart, and implies that what I seek I will find in Him.

This today is my grace. That I don’t have to have all the answers today. I don’t have to rush ahead trying to fix my own insecurity or to prove my worth. I can look at Jesus, who has already done everything for me, and rest calm in his knowledge of my seeking.

Leave a Reply

