A day late

This post was supposed to go up on Monday. But on Sunday evening both boys went to bed with coughs and slight fevers. Monday morning saw us heading to the doctor after Jeremiah’s science class. But the count continues…

This counting gifts thing seems so hokey. At first glance it seems like some kind of self-help exercise. It seems like an attempt to will yourself into positive thinking, “Just think happy thoughts!”

But it’s not that at all.

This counting of gifts is a specific choice to fix my thoughts and focus on Christ. As I have been reading in John as well as the book Because He Loves Me by Elyse M. Fitzpatrick I am seeing more and more how understanding my identity as being in Christ is key to how I view my relationship with God.

“How can our faith grow if all we see before us in our record of failure?” – Because He Loves Me by Elyse M. Fitzpatrick

Corrie ten Boom wrote in a devotional once (that I can’t find the exact source of so I am just paraphrasing here) that a follower of Christ is to be like a mirror – always reflecting the image of Christ. As soon as the mirror is moved in any way the reflection changes. As soon as we take our eyes off of the reflection then we no longer remember what we are to be reflecting. If my eyes are focused on Christ and who I am in Him then I don’t have to feel failure or shame – I am complete, redeemed, loved, perfected!

This counting of gifts is a physical reminder of how loved I am in Him. Every gift I scribble down is God saying to me, “See how much I love you? You didn’t deserve this love, but in Christ I have lavished my love on you and called you my daughter.” Every gift I count is a reminder of who I am.

So I keep counting…

19. a friends listening ear and encouraging words…  20. Aaron taking over bath & bed routine at the end of a long day…21. an encouraging email…22. Jeremiah’s kindness toward a younger child

23. soft lamplight early in the morning snuggling warm in bed reading my Bible and praying…24. deep conversations with the boys today about things of faith, beautiful reflections of the Holy Spirit at work in their hearts…25. Nathaniel trying to sneak up behind me in the park, his shadow giving him away, me surprising him and twirling him around

26. hot cup of coffee, fresh and waiting for me when I wake, by Aaron…27. the boys coloring together, right in the middle of the floor, in my way, but having so much fun…28. all 3 of us around the school table learning together, watching Nathaniel get better at reading

29. morning grapefruit…30. Jeremiah reading his Bible snuggled up next to me in bed…31. afternoon tea

32. scrambled eggs, made by Jeremiah, his helpful attitude has been encouraging…33. a new magazine in the mail box, glossy and bright yellow! fun cheer on a gray, wet day…34. Jeremiah’s tousled blonde hair, us reading together on the couch during rest time

35. rain on the roof, always relaxing at the end of the day…36. pink striped rain boots…37.holding hands

38. being moved to tears during corporate worship…39. compassion…40. generosity

Leave a Reply

