how long?

To see the law by Christ fulfilled, to hear His pardoning voice
Can change a slave into a child and duty into choice
No strength of nature can suffice to serve the Lord aright
And what she has she misapplies for want of clearer light

How long, how long beneath the law I lay
How long, how long I struggled to obey

Then to abstain from outward sin was more than I could do
Now If I feel its power within, I feel I hate it too
Then all my servile works were done, a righteousness to raise
Now, freely chosen in the Son, I freely choose His ways

How long, how long beneath the law I lay
How long, how long I struggled to obey
How long, how long in bondage and distress
How long, how long I tried without success…

credits

from The River, released 22 July 2012 by Wayfarer

This song has been on repeat at our house recently. I feel like it accurately expresses the cry of my heart recently. For so long I lived as a slave, following God’s law because it was expected of me or because it was the right thing to do or because I thought I could earn God’s love. The harder I tried to follow the law the more despondent I became because I knew I could not follow the law. I am so thankful that the past few months have taught me the glorious truth of the free gift of grace in new and meaningful ways. I truly feel like I have been released from bondage and am free to love God and follow His law out of joy and freedom!

 

Leave a Reply

