7 Experiment: Media Month

The month of May is Media fast month for our 7 experiment. For the whole month our family is going to turn off screens.

No Netflix. No Facebook. No blog reading. No Wii games.  No computer games. No movies. (I don’t have to list “no tv” because we haven’t had regular tv channels in 4 years.)

This is going to be hard. Very, very hard.

Yet, I am excited to see what will happen. The goal of the 7 experiment continues to be “to create space for God’s kingdom to break through.” (pg 4) and I know without a shadow of a doubt that screens take up too much space in the life of our family.  I know that I often retreat behind a screen to escape my responsibilities, to waste time, to distract myself. It’s time to stop that cycle and hit the re-set button.

I have removed my Facebook and blog reading apps from my Kindle Fire (which is the only mobile device we have). I  have set my computer homepage to open straight to my email and calendar. I have a pile of books waiting to be read. I have a list of projects waiting to be tackled. We have talked to the boys about the project and they are reluctantly on board.

We will check our email. We will use text messaging on our phones. We will use online streaming to listen to music. I will continue to post on the blog. Aaron will use internet resources for his work.

I suspect that this will end up being the most difficult month of the experiment for me. But here we go…

Leave a Reply

