Evening Prayer

Last night, before sleep, I penned this prayer:

Father,

Grant me rest tonight.

Allow me to sleep as one who is loved completely by you, secure and without regret.

Show me the good I did today. Show me all the ways I was enough, and more.

If I failed, do not allow me to despair. Instead give me courage and strength to try again tomorrow with joy.

Thank you for this life. This snug home. This husband who is my rock. These children who bring so much joy. This town where roots and community are beginning to grow. These friends who love me deeply. This church family who labors beside me.

You have me here and it is good and who am I to constantly question whether it, or I, am enough?

Guard me tonight. Fill my mind and heart with peace from your Spirit. Allow me to wake with joy tomorrow.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

