All Things New

Four weeks after her stroke and my friend is back at church, sitting with her family in the back row holding her babies and hugging her friends.

Four weeks after her stroke and my friend and I had an in depth conversation over lunch, sharing laughter and letting tears fall.

Four and a half weeks after her stroke and my friend is at home caring for her home and kids, by herself, for the first time today.

Four and a half weeks after her stroke and my friend is returning my text messages and calling me to arrange details for our kids field trip.

I am simply amazed. In awe of God’s healing power.

I will admit that I have had some rough days. I have had some hard conversations with God. I am aware that this story could have ended very differently and yet God would have still been good.

But today I am full of wonder.

We don’t get to witness this often – a physical reminder that God is making all things new. I feel like I should savor it. I keep turning over in my mind all the ways that we have seen the Light pushing back the darkness in this situation. I want to set up an altar somewhere, a pile of stones to point at and say, “Remember what we saw God do?!” I light candles instead, holding vigil. The very air seems to shimmer with holy light. I walk tenderly through my days aware of my frailty yet also aware of eternity.

IMG_0524

I heard a voice thunder from the Throne: “Look! Look! God has moved into the neighborhood, making his home with men and women! They’re his people, he’s their God. He’ll wipe every tear from their eyes. Death is gone for good – tears gone, crying gone, pain gone – all the first order of things gone.” The Enthroned continued, “Look! I ‘m making everything new.”
– Revelation 21:3ff (The Message)

Leave a Reply

