Looking for light

The mantra that has been floating around in my head the past few weeks has been “Look for the light!” A few years ago I discovered that one of the ways I can keep fear and panic at bay is to have a phrase I can repeat. When my husband lost his job a few years ago it was “God, you are good.” When I was paralyzed with fear about the adoptive process it was, “Lord I believe, help my unbelief.” When I was struggling with sickness and exhaustion it was “Lord, I receive what you give. I give thanks for what you give.” Recently it has been, “Look for the light!”

I have always been drawn to the imagery of light in the Bible. And in the past few weeks I have been challenging myself to look for the light. Some days it is bright and brilliant. Some days it is more illusive. But the promise in the Bible remains true: The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it. – John 1:5

IMG_0492

The light behind the banks of grey clouds during one of my afternoon runs. As I ran I was praying for my friend and feeling sadness and grief over her situation. I looked up and saw slivers of bright blue piercing the clouds and felt my heart lift. Even the darkness is not dark to you; the night is bright as the day, for darkness is as light to you. – Psalm 139:12

IMG_0449

Morning sun on our living room rug. This rug was in my grandparents home as I was growing up and is now the centerpiece of our home. I love the memories that warm me when I look at this rug. I love the morning sun as it shines into our living room, it warms and uplifts. And God said, “Let there be light,” and there was light. And God saw that the light was good. – Genesis 1:3&4

IMG_0503

Light filtering through a waterfall on an afternoon hike. Peace and life. I am thankful for a body that feels healthy after a few years of struggling with illness.

DSCN8741

Setting sun lighting up a blooming bush. One of my favorite things is evening sun in our yard. As evening falls and the light softens I feel peace descending and contentment settling. This little house in this little town may be old and imperfect but it is ours.

IMG_0552

Bright morning light as my boys skateboard before we settle down to do school work. These boys are growing fast. Sometimes their maturity and independence takes my breath away.

DSCN8752

Light in our neighbors flowering trees. My view from our back deck as we wrap up our school work for the morning. I am grateful for these morning hours with my boys. We are doing more than just getting school work done, we are building relationships that I hope will give them roots.

And there it is. In all of the mundane moments that make up my day, even in the midst of days that feel long and dark, the light is shining whether I choose to look for it or not.

Leave a Reply

