one foot at a time

IMG_1481

These days life is flying by in a blur. Trips, family visits, work, responsibilities, projects. I have to grab my solitude in quick chunks and make the most of it when I can find it. It is a skill I am learning.

My morning time has been the most refreshing so far. I use an app called “She Reads Truth” and am using it to read through the Bible. This makes it easy to grab my coffee and my phone and read God’s Word either in solitude on the back porch or in the midst of the chaos of breakfast with a houseful of guests. A few days ago I read from about the birth of John who would prepare the way for the coming of Christ.

Through the heartfelt mercies of our God, God’s Sunrise will break in upon us, Shining on those in the darkness, those sitting in the shadow of death, Then showing us the way, one foot at a time, down the path of peace.  Luke 1:78,79 (The Message)

How have I missed this?! I have read the Gospel of Luke many times in my life. In the past year I have been on the hunt for reminders of the Light. Here it was, right in front of my eyes. I love how just when I think I know so much about the Bible God humbles me by showing me something I have never seen before.

The steps ahead of me have felt shadowed lately. There are no dramatic changes on our horizon but more the constant changes of daily life. I often question myself. As night falls and I try to sleep my mind runs through the events of the day and wonders where I failed, where I could have been more. I struggle to believe that I did my best and am enough.

But here is the promise – the Light has come! God’s love prompted his rescue plan. When I see the Light in and around me my heart can be at peace. So I keep looking for the rays of sunlight around me. I catch a glimpse in a moment of my two boys playing a game together. I feel the warmth when I see the face of my little 4 year old friend light up when she sees me and her arms open wide for a hug.

The phrase that continues to return to my mind “Then showing us the way, one foot at a time, down the path of peace.”  I am a planner. I want to know things ahead of time. I don’t like surprises or changes. And yet the promise is that God will show me, one foot at a time, what the path of peace is. Am I feeling anxious about our rental property? Peace will come with one decision at a time, one email at a time, one task at time. Am I overwhelmed with parenting? Peace will come one moment at a time, one challenge at a time, one interaction at a time. Does my calendar overflowing with tasks and commitments cause me to feel overwhelmed? Peace will come when I choose joy one responsibility at a time, one person at a time.

So I work to stay in each moment. Taking each day as it comes and finding rest in knowing that God will give me what I need for that day. And one moment at a time the peaceful gifts pile up.

IMG_1240

Evening swim. Our favorite.

IMG_0763

Evening light. Evening walk.

IMG_1409

 

Front porch living for a week. Cool breezes, lazy days, fat books, watching the world go by on the street, quiet evenings, good company coming and going. Refreshing and refilling.

IMG_1329

A day of sand and sun and sea.

IMG_1477

 

Evening bike rides….and rainbows….

IMG_1138

 

 

Leave a Reply

