Calling, and listening. (Day 1: Calling)

31 Days Button 2

Day 1 of 31 Days of 5 Minutes of Free Writing

Today’s Prompt: Calling

GO

Calling. So much pressure. To “follow the call.” To listen to God’s “calling.” To “sacrifice everything in order to follow God’s call.” All noble things, and even true. But what does all of that even mean? Thinking about Gods calling used to cause me much anxiety.

I am almost 39 years old and learning to listen. Not for the grand fanfare of great and noble callings. I am learning to listen for the whispers of the Holy Spirit in my daily life. I am learning to listen to the nudge in my heart that prompts me to look someone in the eye and hear them, to stop, to engage, to notice beauty, to pray, to light a candle, to send a text message to a friend, to snuggle an extra moment on the couch with a son who has been distant lately, to curb my tongue, to give a hug. I am learning to listen and see love and light all around me, even on the days that seem dark.

I don’t know what my “calling” is. I know I have been called to love God and love others. Other than that I guess I get to figure it out one day at a time. One step at a time. John Lennon said, “Life is what happens while you’re busy making other plans.” I have felt the truth of those words lately. I have felt the joy and freedom in that as well. God’s love is always with me, nothing I do can make Him stop loving me and nothing I do can make Him love me more. His calling is not a cause for anxiety but for joy.

STOP

You can read other 5 Minute Free Writes or link up here.

You can find the 31 Days writing challenge with 100s of other link ups here.

One response

Leave a Reply

