Love (Day 7) – The Day My Youngest Son Accepted Life Changing Love

IMG_1952

A fort Nathaniel built a few weeks ago. He made the cross himself. 

I have been participating in 31 Days of 5 Minutes of Free Writing. Fair warning, my post today is going to take more than 5 minutes.

Today’s Prompt: Love

Do you ever wonder if God is at work? Do you ever wonder if He is real? Do you ever wonder if He is really answering prayer? Do you every wonder if He really loves you, or even cares about your life at all?

I hope this story of what happened in our dining room this morning will encourage you.

This morning in the midst of breakfast preparation I got a text from my husband, “Praying you have patience and wisdom today.” I thought that was nice but didn’t really give it much thought as I went about the work of the morning.

Almost every morning during breakfast we read from the Bible. It’s our routine and honestly, some mornings I rush through it because there are so many other things on my to-do list that I want to get to. Today we were reading from Acts 13 in the Message.

“But everyone who believes in this raised-up Jesus is declared good and right and whole before God…When the non-Jewish outsiders heard this, they could hardly believe their good fortune. All who were marked out for real life put their trust in God – they honored God’s Word by receiving that life.” 

As I finished the reading my youngest son looked at me and simply said, “I want that.”

Cue prayers for wisdom.

We talked about the sin in his heart that separates him from God. And his eyes teared up. I lifted his chin, looked deep into those eyes and told him that God loved Him so much that He didn’t want that separation. I told my son that as Jesus was on the cross He knew that there would one day be a boy named Nathaniel, and Jesus loved him so much that He willingly took the punishment for all of Nathaniel’s sin so that he didn’t have to be separated from God. We discussed what it means to be “declared good and right and whole before God.” There was joy in my son’s eyes when I told him that once he believed in Jesus, God would look at him and see Jesus’ righteousness instead of his sin.

Trembling, tearfully, and knowing we were on holy ground I led my son through a prayer confessing his sin, professing Jesus as dying for his sin and then rising from the dead, and asking God to be Lord of his life.

Y’all, I am not exaggerating when I say that my son’s face was changed when we finished the prayer. I could see physical evidence of the change in his heart. His face was soft with joy and bright with the knowledge of deep deep love. I held him tight and whispered that I was happy to now call him a “brother.”

Friends, we are so deeply loved by God. He doesn’t keep himself separate from us. He pursues us. He rescues us. He made a way for us to be declared “good and right and whole.” Good. Right. Whole. That is me! That is you!

This morning, in the midst of the breakfast crumbs and dirty dishes, on a ordinary morning in an ordinary place the Holy Spirit used the Word of God to draw my son to his heavenly Father and show him how much he is loved. I am filled with joy.

This is how much God loved the world: He gave his Son, his one and only Son. And this is why: so that no one need be destroyed; by believing in him, anyone can have a whole and lasting life. – John 3:16 (The Message) 

One response

Leave a Reply

