Storm (Day 12)

IMG_2010

Day 12 of 31 Days of 5 Minutes of Free Writing.

Today’s Prompt: Storm

GO

I took this picture last weekend because it reminded me of one of my favorite verses that I held onto during some recent storms in my life.

If I say, “Surely the darkness shall cover me,

and the light about me be night,”

even the darkness is not dark to you;

the night is bright as the day,

for darkness is as light with you. -Psalm 139:11&12

It still doesn’t make complete sense to me but I know that I have seen light in dark moments. When the storm clouds of depression gathered and I couldn’t see the light for myself I staked my life on the promise that the darkness was not dark even though it seemed like it would never end. When my heart was heavy for friends who were walking through deep valleys I made myself search for light in the world around me. The physical act of looking for light reminded me that the night was as bright as day.

Then I say to myself, “Oh, he even sees me in the dark!

At night I’m immersed in the light!”

It’s a fact: darkness isn’t dark to you;

night and day, darkness and light, they’re all the same to you. -Psalm 139:11&12 (The Message)

God is light and there cannot be darkness where He is. And He is everywhere.

STOP

You can find the 31 Days writing challenge with 100s of other link ups here.

One response

Leave a Reply

