Patience (Day 13)

31 Days Button 2

Day 13 of 31 Days of 5 Minutes of Free Writing.

Today’s Prompt: Patience

GO

I struggle with patience. A lot. Specifically speaking impatiently to others. Specifically speaking impatiently to my husband and children. It is one of my biggest spiritual battles. I have such a hard time “speaking words that make souls stronger” (to quote Ann Voskamp). I want to be a calm, collected mother who always has soft words towards her children. More often than not the words come out clipped and dismissive. I hate this about myself. I believe that the words we speak are important. I teach my children to speak respectfully and kindly but struggle to be a good example in this area.

My impatience is a sign of my idol of self. I speak impatiently and unkindly when I am interrupted, disrespected, when I am tired and worn out. It is my extreme selfishness that causes me to speak this way, when I chose myself and the momentary relief that comes from my frustrated words over the heart and soul of my husband and kids.

There is hope. I have felt my heart changing in this area. I have learned that I cannot change this behavior by sheer force of will. When I am spending time with God and aware of His love for me it is more likely that loving words, rather than impatient words, will come out.

STOP

You can find the 31 Days writing challenge with 100s of other link ups here.

Leave a Reply

