Honor (Day 19)

IMG_2132

The man I chose to marry deserves my honor and respect.

Day 19 of 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writing

Today’s Prompt: Honor

GO

One simple tip I received before my marriage that I have found to be so helpful:

Never speak disrespectfully about your husband to anyone. Ever.

Once those words of dishonor and disrespect come out of your mouth they take on a life of their own. Once those words are spoken aloud they increase discontent in you, they feed the feelings of dissatisfaction. They cause the person you spoke them to to view your husband with a measure of contempt.

It’s just not worth it.

Does this mean that my husband has never angered me or that I have never had to ask a friend for advice about a marital issue? No. It is possible to hash through a problem or ask a friends advice without using words, phrases, or tones that convey dishonor. I just have to choose my words more carefully instead of verbally vomiting out every little thing I am thinking. It means that in discussing a problem I have had to exercise self-control, acknowledge my role in the problem more quickly, and view my husband with good intentions rather than negative ones. All of those things are helpful to the resolution of conflict.

Words have great power. They can bring honor or dishonor. They can build up or they can tear down. We get to choose how to use them.

STOP

I am participating in the 31 Days Writing Challenge. Click here to see all posts in this series.

31 Days Button 2

Leave a Reply

