Wave (Day 21)

31 Days Button 2

Day 21 of 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writing

Today’s Prompt: Wave

GO

I wake in the pre-dawn hours. I am wrenched from sleep by my body being invaded by wave upon wave of strange feeling. I try not to feel defeated, knowing what is to come in the next few hours; inability to sleep, nausea, total depletion of energy that will keep me in bed until lunch time. My plans for the day will have to be cancelled or changed.

I was going through a time where my body was constantly betraying me and not only the physical symptoms, but the lack of control, was wearying.

I couldn’t explain these waves clearly enough to a physician. I went to multiple doctors and had many tests. I could never find the right words for the physical sensations of the waves that would wake me in the night.

I am feeling much better these days. There is still no clear explanation of what was going on with my body during that time. Maybe my symptoms stemmed from a physical problem. Maybe I was having some emotional issues. Maybe I was having a combination of both. Regardless, God had lessons for me to learn. Lessons of trust, and taking each day at a time. Lessons of letting others care for me. Lessons of stepping back and letting go and learning that it’s okay to say “no.” Lessons of listening to my body, and listening to my heart, and learning to take care of both.

It’s been a long time since I have felt the waves. But I hope the lessons I learned stick around.

STOP

I am participating in the 31 Days Writing Challenge. Click here to see all posts in this series.

Leave a Reply

