Silence (Day 24)

31 Days Button 2

Day 24 of 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writing

Today’s Prompt: Silence

GO

Silence can be deadly.

Our silence stretches. A wall between us. A barrier that gets more difficult to penetrate the longer it is allowed to linger. We have brief, businesslike exchanges to keep the family running but the conversation that brings connection and emotional intimacy is missing. It’s not always because we are mad at each other, often we are just busy or distracted. And then we look up to realize our joy in each other is gone.

So with God. I wonder why He is silent. Why my day feels dry. Why I feel irritable and off balance. And He gently asks me, “When was the last time you spoke to me, daughter?” When was the last time I lingered over His Words? When was the last time I sought to be in His presence because it brought me joy?

It takes extra effort to break the silence. It is work to initiate the conversation that goes deeper than the minutia of the day. It takes a sacrifice of time and attention, turning my eyes and mind from the things that distract me. The gift is always restored intimacy and that is always worth it.

STOP

I am participating in the 31 Days Writing Challenge. Click here to see all posts in this series.

Leave a Reply

