Crash (Day 25)

IMG_0969

Day 25 of 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writing

Today’s Prompt: Crash

GO

I have a son with and iron will. I am pretty stubborn myself. There were times when I believed the crash of two wills colliding would damage our relationship forever.

There were people who thought I was too tough on him and others who thought I wasn’t tough enough.

There were nights when I went to bed in tears after a day of countless relentless battles of the will. The guilt I felt over my mothering of this child was immense. I was sure I wanted to teach him self-discipline and respect for others, but I thought the process might cause serious harm to our relationship.

So I prayed. I wept. I begged God to show me how to guide this young soul I had been gifted with. I asked the Holy Spirit to soften my will where necessary and strengthen it when needed. Above all I begged God to show me that we could have a positive relationship, despite our clashes of will.

(My time is up but I am going to keep going.)

Can I tell you that God is answering my prayer beyond my wildest imaginings? We are enjoying each other! We laugh and joke and the other day I even got a spontaneous hug! I have recently watched this boy tenderly pay attention to and play with children years younger than him. I have watched him control his temper. I have watched him exercise self-control and show genuine respect toward other people.

As God changed my heart, softening my will and taking away much of the anger in my heart, He also changed the heart of my son. Our clashes are few and far between now. I don’t know what the future holds but I know I can continue to trust God to guide and lead us. I can trust the Holy Spirit to work because he loves us and cares about us.

STOP

I am participating in the 31 Days Writing Challenge. Click here to see all posts in this series.

2 responses

  1. This post is so full of God’s truth and promises! Thank you for sharing this. It’s nice to know that I’m not the only Mom dealing with this and even nicer to see God work in other people’s lives.

Leave a Reply

