Whisper (Day 26)

IMG_0078

My running shadow. 

Day 26 of 31 Days of Five Minute Free Writing

Today’s Prompt: Whisper

GO

Voices whisper in my head telling me I am not good enough, telling me I am failing, telling me that I am not worthy of love. I am learning to talk back to those whispers.

One of my tools is running. As I challenge my body, I challenge my mind. I get stronger and better at controlling what voices whisper to me.

The first mile is always a challenge. My legs burn and my lungs struggle to gulp air. I say to myself, “I can do this. This discomfort is temporary. In just a few minutes I will hit the sweet spot and be thankful that I started.”

The second mile is my favorite. My pace has found its rhythm and my muscles are no longer tight. My lungs fill with fresh air and I am able to look around me and enjoy the scenery. I am full of energy. I notice the beauty around me in the color of the fall leaves, or the sun rising over the parking lot. I say to myself, “You are loved. You are noticed.”

The third mile and I begin to slow a little, getting a bit tired but I have a goal of more than 3 miles so I start talking to myself, “You are strong. Keep your goal in mind. You know you want to post your accomplishment in your Facebook exercise accountability group so keep going.”

The final mile of my run is a battle between the voice whispering at me to stop and the one telling me to finish up strong. I say, “Do not stop. You are so close to your goal. You will feel so proud of yourself when you are done. Just keep going.”

It isn’t easy to take control of those negative whispers that cloud my mind and effect my actions. But I am getting better at it. I am getting better at fighting back with God’s Word and speaking back to those whispers that are lies.

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. – Philippians 4:8

STOP

31 Days Button 2

I am participating in the 31 Days Writing Challenge. Click here to see all posts in this series.

Leave a Reply

